Who knew that texting would become our preferred mode of communication? It seems counter intuitive, yet we now prefer typing out conversations instead of the ease of just talking. And all this as we are multitasking in our ever more complex lives.
As a result, distracted driving has become even more dangerous than drunk driving on our roads and causes thousands of injuries each year. As Richmond Hill personal injury lawyers, we see the sad consequences of texting while driving frequently.
What Constitutes a Distraction?
Granted, texting is not the only distraction that drivers have on the roadways. Anything that takes our attention away from the road in front of us is considered a distraction. Distractions can be
● Visual — anything that requires us to take our eyes off the road
● Manual — anything that requires us to take our hands off the wheel
● Cognitive — anything that requires us to take our minds off driving
Consequently, this makes texting one of the most dangerous distractions of all since it requires all three of the above types of distractions all rolled into one. And one that we Richmond Hill personal injury attorneys take very seriously.
The Huge Toll of Texting While Driving
According to studies conducted by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, approximately 9.5 people are fatally wounded and 1,000 people injured each day due to distracted driving. If you consider the math, it’s easy to see why.
Consider a car traveling 55 miles per hour. Under that scenario, that car will travel the length of a whole football field in a mere five seconds. The time it takes to read a simple text message means that you have traveled a hundred yards with your eyes off the road. It shouldn’t surprise anyone that a great number of texters don’t even see the cars that they crash into or a stop sign that they failed to yield to.
California Laws are Clear When it Comes to Texting and Driving
Here in California, the laws are clear when it comes to texting and driving.
● A driver cannot use a mobile device for calling, reading or writing text message while driving on a public road.
● A driver may use a mobile device only if they have hands-free capability.
● A driver under the age of 18 is prohibited from using a mobile device even if it has hands-free capability.
Furthermore, under California law, the phone must be mounted on the windshield of the care or on the dashboard in such a way as to not hinder view of the road and the driver’s hand must be able to activate or deactivate it with a single tap or swipe.
Penalties for mobile device use while driving are punishable with a $20 fine for the first offence and $50 for subsequent offenses not including fines for penalty assessments. But as Richmond Hill injury lawyers, we still see infractions each and every day.
Texting and Driving Can Be Deadly
Texting and driving is not only dangerous, it is deadly. If you have been involved in an accident involving a distracted driver, call the Richmond Hill injury attorneys at RPC Law for a free consultation.